NRF promotes and invests in the architectural heritage of the Newport community, the traditional building trades, and Doris Duke’s fine and decorative arts collections, for the enjoyment, education and inspiration of all.
As a leader in the preservation of early American architecture, NRF supports research and education in areas directly related to its collections and issues of critical concern to the field of historic preservation.
Tour Doris Duke’s art-filled mansion and enjoy panoramic ocean views from the extensive grounds, designed by Frederick Law Olmsted. Open April to November.
Experience the only museum in the world specializing in 18th-century Newport furniture and related decorative arts.
Explore 40 acres of open space, a tribute to the agrarian heritage of Aquidneck Island. The site is open daily from dawn to dusk for public enjoyment.
Newport Restoration Foundation holds one of the largest collections of period architecture owned by a single organization anywhere in the United States.
Celebrate excellence in historic preservation efforts within the City of Newport, Rhode Island.
Live amidst history by renting one of our many historic properties.
Help us to continue a lived-in legacy by becoming a Restoration Partner today.
A joint program of the Newport Restoration Foundation and the City of Newport, the annual Doris Duke Historic Preservation Awards encourage excellence in historic preservation efforts within the City of Newport by recognizing exemplary preservation projects and educational activities and acknowledging individuals who have made significant, life-time contributions to the preservation of the built environment.
Since its inception 14 years ago, the Doris Duke Historic Preservation Awards have raised over $475,000 to support preservation in Newport. Doris Duke’s radical vision, on the founding of NRF in 1968, was to rescue and restore Newport’s oldest houses. The awards, which provide crucial support to NRF’s continued efforts in advancing historic preservation activities, are named in her honor.
Please join us for this important event!
The 14th Annual Doris Duke Historic Preservation Awards
Friday, September 11, 2020
The 2020 nomination period is now open!
A joint program of the Newport Restoration Foundation and the City of Newport, the annual Doris Duke Preservation Awards encourages excellence in historic preservation within the community by recognizing exemplary historic preservation building and landscape projects and historic preservation activities.
This year’s deadline for nominations is May 26, 2020.
Please download a 2020 DDPA Nomination Form, which provides information about the nomination process and instructions and requirements for submitting your application.
To be added to our nomination outreach list, please email Meaghan Barry Fernandes.
For questions and form submissions, please email Alyssa Lozupone.
Funds raised from the Doris Duke Historic Preservation Awards will support important NRF preservation initiatives and activities such as advancing our work in studying climate change resilience in Newport, creating new programs and unique events that engage the community, and preserving and stewarding our historic museums and centuries-old properties.
Printable Sponsorship Form
Please direct any Sponsorship inquiries to Alicia Cipriano at 401.849.7300 x117 or at 401.847.8344 .
23 Hammersmith Road (1887)
Owned by Linda and Rocky Kempenaar; recognized for the rehabilitation of a nineteenth-century utilitarian out-building. The building was originally constructed in 1887 as a horse barn to support the larger Wild Moor Estate. Until its purchase by the Kempenaars in 2016, the property had been used as storage space and had never been fully utilized as a modern, residential structure. Highlights of the rehabilitation included upgrading mechanical systems to meet modern building codes and restoring historic windows, doors, radiators, and woodwork throughout the house. The Kempenaars' goal for the rehabilitation was to demonstrate the adaptive reuse potential of utilitarian buildings and bring light to the network of outbuildings associated with historic Newport estates.
Awarded to Cheryl Hackett and John Grosvenor; recognized for rehabilitating a 10,000 square-foot dilapidated mansion originally designed by noted architect Richard Upjohn in 1857 for Alexander Van Rensselaer. The homeowners designed a rehabilitation plan that qualified for federal historic tax credits and, in so doing, preserved the building’s architectural integrity, documented the site’s history, and ensured the house would be economically sustainable for future stewards. Exterior restoration included painting, roof replacement, and historic wood window restoration. Interior restoration included repairing original cracked plaster walls and water-damaged ceilings, refinishing hardwood flooring, rebuilding fireplace hearths, and upgrading systems. Today, Restmere stands as an example of Richard Upjohn’s Italianate resort-style vernacular and is home to over 160 years of Rhode Island’s architectural, social, military, music, and Civil Rights history.
St. Columba’s Lych Gate (1897)
Vaucluse Avenue, Middletown, RI
Awarded to St. Columba’s Chapel; recognized for restoring a rare American lych gate, a feature which traditionally serves as the entrance to an English churchyard. St. Columba’s timber framed lych gate was designed by prominent Gothic Revival architect Henry Vaughan, supervising architect of the Washington National Cathedral. Recently it was discovered that extensive damage by insects and other animals had affected both the appearance and the structural integrity of the Chapel’s iconic gate. The restoration work included in-kind replacement of the gate’s sculpted sill beams and roof shingles as well as leveling the stone floor and staining the entire structure. With its completion this past May, the project increases the beauty of St. Columba’s campus, served as the impetus for a Historic Preservation Trust campaign, and grants future generations the ability to enjoy St. Columba’s just as Newport residents in their carriages did one hundred years ago.
Vinland Ironwork (1880)
Ochre Point Avenue, Newport, RI
Awarded to Salve Regina University; recognized for the restoration of the University’s cast- and wrought-iron fencing along Shepard and Ochre Point Avenues. The fencing was originally part of the Vinland Estate built by Peabody & Stearns in 1881-83, which was then gifted to the University in 1955. The project included foundry replication and casting of fence posts, panels, and piping that were damaged beyond repair as well as the return of fencing that had previously been removed from the original site. Protective measures, such as the installation of new curb stops along Shepard Avenue, were also taken to ensure the continued preservation of the historic fencing. The project was supported by a grant from the Alletta Morris McBean Charitable Trust, and now allows the fence to continue to be a focal point for students, faculty, and staff as they move about campus as well as visitors who regularly stroll along Ochre Point Avenue.
Mr. & Mrs. Mortimer Berkowitz III
James H. Ross
Elizabeth “Lisette” Prince
Doris Duke Charitable Foundation
Mr. and Mrs. Samuel M. Mencoff
Dory and Dan Benson
Mrs. James J. Coleman, Jr.
Bob and Wini Galkin Fund
Mr. John D. Harris II and
Ms. Linda Sawyer
Ms. Stefani Hulitar
Juliette Clagett McLennan
Slocum, Gordon & Co. LLP
Dr. Holly M. Bannister and
Mr. Douglas L. Newhouse
Bowen’s Wharf Co. Inc.
Kim and Glenn Darden
D.F. Dwyer Insurance Agency
Home & Commercial Security, Inc.
Lila Delman Real Estate
Victoria and Joe Mele
George and Susan Petrovas
John and Linda Purdy
Sandra Liotus Lighting Design, LLC
Trina and Art Santry
Advanced Alarm Systems, Inc.
Lynne and Armin Allen
M. Therese Antone, RSM
Citrin Cooperman & Co., LLP
Mr. and Mrs. George G. Herrick
Hilb Group New England
Ivy Wealth Management
Don and Jana Jagoe
Philip C. Marshall
PEAK Event Services
The Preservation Society of Newport County
Mrs. Federick H. Prince
Mr. and Mrs. Ernst Rothe
Salve Regina University
Diana Pearson Scheetz
Major General and Mrs. Stephen R. Seiter