NRF promotes and invests in the architectural heritage of the Newport community, the traditional building trades, and Doris Duke’s fine and decorative arts collections, for the enjoyment, education and inspiration of all.
As a leader in the preservation of early American architecture, NRF supports research and education in areas directly related to its collections and issues of critical concern to the field of historic preservation.
Tour Doris Duke’s art-filled mansion and enjoy panoramic ocean views from the extensive grounds, designed by Frederick Law Olmsted. Open April to November.
Experience the only museum in the world specializing in 18th-century Newport furniture and related decorative arts.
Explore 40 acres of open space, a tribute to the agrarian heritage of Aquidneck Island. The site is open daily from dawn to dusk for public enjoyment.
Newport Restoration Foundation holds one of the largest collections of period architecture owned by a single organization anywhere in the United States.
Celebrate excellence in historic preservation efforts within the City of Newport, Rhode Island.
Live amidst history by renting one of our many historic properties.
Help us to continue a lived-in legacy by becoming a Restoration Partner today.
47 John Street
The Constant Tabor House is a four-bay, two-story building with a gambrel roof, a large interior chimney, and a well-proportioned pediment doorway in the Georgian style. The original site of the house remains speculative until more conclusive evidence is found. The house was purchased by the Newport Restoration Foundation (NRF) in 1969 and restored in 1970 -71.
The building reflects a construction date of 1740 to 1750, yet the first records for this land occur when Richard Hazard sold the lot (without a building) to Constant Tabor in 1803. One theory put forth is that the house was moved to the sight by Tabor after he purchased the land. Further speculation places the house originally in the area of Thames Street and suggests that it was moved owing to commercial expansions in that area. This theory is also supported by the fact that the foundation is more appropriate to 1803 than 1750. The house itself, however, is definitely 1750 in construction and design.
There are a few unusual parts to the house, particularly since it appears so straightforwardly Georgian from the exterior. The framing has some odd placements of posts as compared to most houses of this period. Also, the stairway takes up the northeast corner on the first, second, and even the third floor. On the exterior there is a window to the left of the door on the first floor and one above it on the second floor, keeping the facade properly balanced. However, the second floor window is a false element, which appears as a window on the exterior, but on the interior is a blank wall where the stairway cuts diagonally across the window's position.
In the nineteenth century, the house became the property of Mahlon Van Horne, a leader of the Union Colored Congregational Church in Newport and well-respected member of the African-American community. Through him, the house served many functions in support of that community during much of the nineteenth and into the twentieth centuries. Mr. Van Horne later became the 1st African American to be elected to the Newport School Committee and to the Rhode Island General Assembly, and went on to become General Counsel to Danish West Indies under President McKinley.
Photo of the house before restoration.