NRF promotes and invests in the architectural heritage of the Newport community, the traditional building trades, and Doris Duke’s fine and decorative arts collections, for the enjoyment, education and inspiration of all.
As a leader in the preservation of early American architecture, NRF supports research and education in areas directly related to its collections and issues of critical concern to the field of historic preservation.
Tour Doris Duke’s art-filled mansion and enjoy panoramic ocean views from the extensive grounds, designed by Frederick Law Olmsted. Open late March to November.
Experience the only museum in the world specializing in 18th-century Newport furniture and related decorative arts. Open late May to October.
Explore 40 acres of open space, a tribute to the agrarian heritage of Aquidneck Island. The site is open daily from dawn to dusk for public enjoyment.
Newport Restoration Foundation holds one of the largest collections of period architecture owned by a single organization anywhere in the United States.
Celebrate excellence in historic preservation efforts within the City of Newport, Rhode Island.
Live amidst history by renting one of our many historic properties.
Help us to continue a lived-in legacy by becoming a Restoration Partner today.
2554 West Main Road
Potter House was built in Oneco, CT in 1790. While it is a stretch to have a Connecticut house on Aquidneck Island, this building was acquired in a situation of some urgency. The house had already been dismantled and was rapidly deteriorating due to poor storage conditions. The NRF was persuaded to rescue the building before it decayed further.
Although it is somewhat out of context, the Potter House was rebuilt at Prescott Farm during 1984 and 1985. It displays several features that are typical of Connecticut architecture, most prominent of which are its projecting gables. It came to the collection with a frame in fine condition and most of its interior and exterior woodwork intact.