NRF promotes and invests in the architectural heritage of the Newport community, the traditional building trades, and Doris Duke’s fine and decorative arts collections, for the enjoyment, education and inspiration of all.
As a leader in the preservation of early American architecture, NRF supports research and education in areas directly related to its collections and issues of critical concern to the field of historic preservation.
Tour Doris Duke’s art-filled mansion and enjoy panoramic ocean views from the extensive grounds, designed by Frederick Law Olmsted. Open April to November.
Experience the only museum in the world specializing in 18th-century Newport furniture and related decorative arts.
Explore 40 acres of open space, a tribute to the agrarian heritage of Aquidneck Island. The site is open daily from dawn to dusk for public enjoyment.
Newport Restoration Foundation holds one of the largest collections of period architecture owned by a single organization anywhere in the United States.
Celebrate excellence in historic preservation efforts within the City of Newport, Rhode Island.
Live amidst history by renting one of our many historic properties.
Help us to continue a lived-in legacy by becoming a Restoration Partner today.
2009 West Main Road
The Hicks House (originally the John Earle House), was built circa 1715 on a three acre plot on Bristol Ferry Road, Portsmouth, RI. It was moved from Bristol Ferry Road to its present location in 1970 and restored in 1971 by NRF. The house was originally built by John Earle Jr. who purchased the land for 100 pounds from his cousin.
The home is thought to have been used, in its earliest period, by the ferrymen who operated the boat between Portsmouth and Bristol at the site of the current Mt. Hope Bridge. Very little is known about the home until 1855 when it was inhabited by a Robert Hicks and his 10 children. It is a very simple structure of two rooms and an only partially usable loft space. The building is a great example of a typical home for a low income family in the 18th century.
Photo of the house before restoration.