Past meets present at this colonial farm site. Learn how windmills work and their role in Rhode Island history. Explore the beautiful gardens maintained by Master Gardeners from the University of Rhode Island. Hear about the capture of British General Prescott during the American Revolution, an act commended by George Washington himself. Or just bring a picnic and enjoy the grounds. Site open daily, sunrise to sunset.
Join us for programs ranging from stone wall workshops to family windmill open houses. To learn more visit our programs page.
Workshops are offered at Prescott Farm during the summer and fall each year. Past workshops have included: stonewall building, blacksmithing, open hearth cooking, a beehive tour and tasting, and wind energy past and present. To learn more about upcoming workshops and receive our monthly enewsletter, contact Liz Spoden at Liz@NewportRestoration.org or (401) 846-4152.
On the north side of the property are the Nichols-Overing House (c.1730), original to the site, Potter House (c.1790), the Almy-Cory House (c.1800), and Goudy Cottage (c.1960). All are restored and rented to tenant stewards. This area is not normally available for public access. The public museum site, on the south side of the creek, offers a glimpse of early rural Aquidneck Island through its buildings and landscape.
The Robert Sherman Windmill, built in 1812 stands as a reminder of Aquidneck Island’s agricultural history. Learn how windmills operate and more about its fascinating history.
The Guard House (mid-1700s) is where General Prescott may have quartered his bodyguards during the Revolutionary War. Learn more about this structure and its connection to the Patriots who captured Prescott in 1777 and won the praise of George Washington.
The Hicks House (c.1715), a simple structure of two rooms and a loft, is believed to have housed the Bristol ferryman and his family. It was relocated to its current site in 1970. Learn more!
The Sweet-Anthony House (c. 1730) is an excellent example of an 18th century, middle-class farmer’s house. It was rescued from demolition as suburban sprawl overtook West Main Road. It is currently a private residence.
2009 West Main Road
ph (401) 849-7300
The grounds are free and open to the public daily dawn to dusk. Prescott Farm is not available for event rentals. However, group tours and activities are available. See our group tour page for more information.
How did Prescott Farm get its Name?
The farm is the site of a significant event in the American Revolution. General Prescott, commander of the 4,000-strong British occupying force on Aquidneck Island, took the house owned by Loyalist John Overing as his rural headquarters. Prescott was not well liked, being characterized as dictatorial and arrogant. He had taken the Bannister House in Newport as his town headquarters, but unfortunately for him on July 10, 1777 he chose to be in the country. American Colonel William Barton, under cover of darkness, led a party of 30 or more men in longboats on a circuitous route from Tiverton to the point where the farm brook empties into the bay. The party somehow avoided guards during their stealthy trek to Overing House, surprised General Prescott, and absconded with him and his aide. As they retraced their path to the longboats, no shot was fired nor alarm given until they were well away. Thus the rebel force accomplished one of the more daring and successful raids of the Revolution. As an expression of patriot pride, the farm has been dubbed Prescott Farm since at least the mid-1800s.