NRF promotes and invests in the architectural heritage of the Newport community, the traditional building trades, and Doris Duke’s fine and decorative arts collections, for the enjoyment, education and inspiration of all.
As a leader in the preservation of early American architecture, NRF supports research and education in areas directly related to its collections and issues of critical concern to the field of historic preservation.
Tour Doris Duke’s art-filled mansion and enjoy panoramic ocean views from the extensive grounds, designed by Frederick Law Olmsted. Open April to November.
Experience the only museum in the world specializing in 18th-century Newport furniture and related decorative arts.
Explore 40 acres of open space, a tribute to the agrarian heritage of Aquidneck Island. The site is open daily from dawn to dusk for public enjoyment.
Newport Restoration Foundation holds one of the largest collections of period architecture owned by a single organization anywhere in the United States.
Celebrate excellence in historic preservation efforts within the City of Newport, Rhode Island.
Live amidst history by renting one of our many historic properties.
Help us to continue a lived-in legacy by making a contribution to our Annual Fund today.
2013 West Main Road
This small gambrel-roofed building was attached to the back of the Nichols–Overing House in 1840, when it was moved there to replace an ell destroyed by fire. In 1971, the NRF moved it to the museum side of the property. Oral tradition has it located on the site in the 1700s and its frame is certainly 18th century. Since it is the kind of utilitarian structure that might have housed General Prescott’s guards during his occupation of the Nichols–Overing House, the second floor is furnished to tell this story.
The Guard House site represents the event for which Prescott Farm has been named (and called by locals for centuries,) the capture of British Army General Prescott in early July 1777. General Prescott had, against the guidance of his advisers, moved his headquarters out of downtown Newport and into the country to the Nichols-Overing House. When word reached Patriot commander Lt. Col. William Barton of Prescott's vulnerability in the country he undertook a kidnapping mission to capture the British General and exchange him for captured Patriot General Lee. The victory was one of the first for the patriots in the American Revolution. Today the NRF uses the first floor for a variety of educational programs.
Photo of the house before restoration.